Southwest Buddha Bowl

Happy Sunday!

Welcome to Confession of a Modern Hippy’s first recipe post. I am super excited about this because I am in a very serious relationship with food.

I love a quick, easy and yummy recipe when my days are a hot mess of busy what-the-frak. The Southwest Buddha Bowl is that kind of recipe. This meal came in handy on Tuesday. I have been organizing the house while trying to balance work and children.

I do apologize for the lack of photos in this post, as I managed to delete the wrong photo file! Labeling my friends it’s a hard lesson learned.

Here is what you will need:

Rice *( Any kind you like. I used wild rice)

Avocado

1 cup cooked corn

Black beans or Refired beans

Roasted Chickpeas

Salad mix of your choice

Salsa

Chili powder

Olive oil

Salt and Pepper.

You’ll want to start the rice and the roasted chickpeas. Preheat the oven to 400 and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. While the oven is preheating, start the pot of rice. One of my biggest tip when it comes to making rice is a bay leaf and teaspoon of butter or plant based butter. Put the heat on medium and bring the butter, rice, and water to a boil. Lower the heat to a simmer and place the lid on the pot for 15 mins. Then remove from heat and leave it alone with the lid still on for an extra 15 minutes.

For the chickpeas, it is always best to drain, rinse and dry on a towel about half an hour before cooking. Wet chickpeas do not get crispy in the oven, they seem to keep the mushy texture. 

After the chickpeas are dry, put them on the baking sheet you got prepared earlier, spread the chickpeas out evenly. Take the olive oil and pour it over the chickpeas, toss on chili powder, salt, pepper, and mix. I mean show those chickpeas some olive oil and seasoning love.  Place in the oven for 20 minutes.

Once everything is cooked, put it all in a bowl. Salad, rice, salsa, corn, avocado, roasted chickpeas, and refried beans. It’s simple, quick and out of my way for the evening. The  Southwest Buddha Bowl is filling and since everything has its own seasoning there isn’t a need for a sauce!

Give it a try and enjoy it!

Leave a Comment